Electronic Prayer Book

Helpful Notes


Five decades of the Rosary are now prayed. One Our Father, ten Hail Marys, and one Glory Be To The Father are prayed for each decade. The five decades are taken from the joyful, sorrowful, or glorious mysteries on a rotating basis.

In group settings, someone is usually assigned to lead each decade. It is customary in many circles for the leader to recite the first part of each Hail Mary, while the entire group responds by saying the second part beginning with the words “Holy Mary, Mother of God.”

The usual rotational System for saying the joyful, sorrowful and glorious mysteries is as follows:


Joyful Mysteries

Usually said on Mondays and Thursdays throughout the year and on Sundays from Advent to the beginning of Lent.


Sorrowful Mysteries

Usually said on Tuesday and Fridays throughout the year and on Sundays in Lent.


Glorious Mysteries

Usually said on Wednesdays, Saturdays, and also on Sundays from Easter to Advent.